Smartphones: Are they Turning us into Idiots?

“I fear the day that technology will surpass our human interaction. The world will have a generation of idiots.” – Albert Einstein

Smartphone date

Even though I am typically an opponent of reductionism, I wonder if smartphones, generally speaking, cause more harm than good? I must confess that after a hard day of work and once our little girl, Violet, is asleep I easily default to playing Words with Friends or catching up on Twitter while “hanging out” with my wife. It’s times like these that I occasionally wonder “is my cell phone a benefit or a detriment to my life?”. In that case, I can tell you it most assuredly is not a benefit to the health of my mind and my marriage.

However, overall I feel that smartphones have a net positive impact on the globe. The two biggest benefits that I see are (1) increased access to information in the hands of more people, and (2) increased speed of communication between people and peoples (in emergencies, or in the context of political movements like in Egypt last year). The biggest drawbacks to smartphone use are (1) the impacts to personal interaction (as shown in those pictures) and (2) a shortening of my attention span in other areas of my life. Still, with everything in the balance, I believe the positives outweigh the negatives (narrowly). Though my wife my disagree.

Your Thoughts?

About Slow Sand

I'm a busted, broken, human who's been transformed by the unending grace and love of a Redeemer. I like to write most about ministry, pop culture, and nerdy things.
This entry was posted in nerdy, sad. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment